Christainsborg & Parliament

Christainsborg Castle & Parliament.

Christiansborg Slotsplads
Christiansborg Castle

Christainsborg Castle & Parliament 2020 The III. Constructor and architect Thorvald Jørgensen.

“The Gate of Pain”.

The Gate of Pain".
The Gate of Pain”. popularly named as “Earache”, “Headache”, “Stomach pain” and “Toothache”.
House of 179 elected members.

Above the entrance to the Parliament is there four granite giants which carry the balcony above;

this entrance is popularly referred to as “The Gate of Pain”. The character’s original name was “The Daily Wear”

and was supposed to be a strong composition as a counterpart to the heavy granite castle.

But the despairing faces of stone created so much dismay at their disclosure that money was collected for their removal.

However, the figures still exist and have been popularly named as “Earache”, “Headache”, “Stomach pain” and “Toothache”.

Christiansborg fra Ny Vestergade
Christiansborg Slotsholmen Ny Vestergade
Christiansborg Rideplads
Christiansborg the back side
Kong Christian den 9
King Christian the IX
Ministry of State

The palace is thus home to the three supreme powers: the executive power, the legislative power, and the judicial power.

It is the only building in the world that houses all three of a country’s branches of government.

The name Christiansborg is thus also frequently used as a metonym for the Danish political system, and colloquially it is often referred to as Rigsborgen or simply Borgen.

The Folketing

The Folketing, also known as the Danish Parliament in English,is the unicameral national legislature (parliament) of the Kingdom of Denmark

– together with the Faroe Islands and Greenland. Established in 1849, until 1953 the Folketing was the lower house of a bicameral parliament, called the Rigsdag; the upper house was Landstinget.

It meets in Christiansborg Palace, on the islet of Slotsholmen in central Copenhagen. “Wikipidia” 2020